Jump to a specific page - are you interested in:
Continuing Education for Florida Contractors
Most states require the completion of continuing education for the license renewal process. Florida is no different and has specific requirements for renewing a contractor license.
The license renewal process can be overwhelming when you are first getting started. But, we are here to simplify the process as much as possible for you! We have continuing education courses that will meet your renewal requirement. And our courses are online so that you can work on them at your own time and place.
WHAT YOU CAN EXPECT FROM US
This page will cover everything you need to know about the continuing education requirement for your Florida Contractor license renewal! We will explain the criteria for your continuing education and discuss how we can help you accomplish your biannual requirement of 14 hours of continuing education. If you have any questions about the process, please do not hesitate to reach out to us today!Contact us
Florida Continuing Education
The Florida Construction Industry Licensing Board (CILB) requires 14 hours of board-approved continuing education for each biannual license renewal. This continuing education requirement applies to both registered and certified contractors.
Continuing Education Course Requirements
All contractors are required, as part of the 14 hours of continuing education, to have at least one hour in each of the following areas of study:
- Specialized or advanced module
- Workplace safety
- Business Practices
- Workers' compensation
- Laws and rules
- Wind mitigation (ONLY applicable for Building, General, Residential, Roofing, Specialty Structure, and Glass and Glazing contractors)
- Remaining hours can be any board approved construction-related instruction
See the Florida DBPR website for more information.
License Renewal Dates
Florida Contractors are required to renew their license biannually. License renewal requires the completion of 14 hours of continuing education and the payment of renewal fees by August 31st.
If you are a Registrant, meaning your license is registered, your renewal date will be August 31st of an odd-numbered year.
If you are a Certificateholder, meaning your license is state-certified, your renewal date will be August 31st of an even-numbered year.
License Renewal Fees
License renewal also requires the payment of renewal fees. Renewal fees for most construction licenses are $205 (+$50 per qualified business).
FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS
Yes. Contractor Training Center is an approved provider for our online Florida Continuing Education offerings. Our continuing education course pages will include the course number associated with our course.