Overview & Benefits
Obtaining a contractor’s license in Oregon
Want to know how to get a contractor's license in Oregon? First things first – there are some requisites you need to meet before you can be eligible for an Oregon contractor license. All contractors licensing is done under the Oregon Construction Contractors Board. Here are the 3 things Oregon law requires of all contractors:
- Be at least 18 years old
- Complete at least 16 hours of training on law & business practices
- Pass the state examination
We hope you have the first two steps down and are here for step #3. If this is the case, you have come to the right place!
The Benefits of Having a Contractor's License in OR
Having a contractor’s license in the state of Oregon brings forward several opportunities. To begin, it shows clients that you are not a scam artist. If anyone could build houses, we would all be in a lot of trouble. A license shows you are trained and knowledgeable, consequently increasing your credibility and bringing in more clients.
Gives You Credibility
Having a license increases your credibility, allowing you to build trust with your clients. There are other ways you can gain their trust, but this is a big part of establishing yourself and your business, especially if you're working with new customers.
Gives You A Higher Earning Potential
Consequently, there are larger projects that you can't perform without a contractor's license. With one, you can take on big assignments, get more jobs, and increase your profit. More times than not, clients will pay a higher price to a licensed contractor as opposed to unlicensed handymen.
Another benefit of having this license is your earning potential. Clients would rather have a qualified, licensed contractor conduct work on their property instead of a handyman. Not only this but in the state of OR you can’t perform construction work without one. If you get caught, you could be facing legal trouble.