Jump to a specific page - are you interested in:
Arkansas Contractor License Exam Prep Courses, Classes, and Webinars
Obtaining a Contractor's License in the State of Arkansas
Welcome to Contractor Training Center! Here, you’ll find information on obtaining an Arkansas contractor license. This is a requirement in the state of AR. Not to mention, it promises many benefits when you become a licensed contractor.
We’d like to begin by congratulating you on this exciting decision! If you’ve landed on this specific page, it’s likely that you’re ready to obtain your Arkansas contractor's license. Our courses can help you get there. Just like every other state in the U.S., there are requirements for licensed and unlicensed work in AR. For many projects, you’ll need a license before you can legally perform work on someone else’s property.
At Contractor Training Center, we are here to prepare you for these requirements. We can help you navigate the rules in place within Arkansas. This can be a tedious process. However, we are here to make it as stress-free as possible. Let’s get started on the ins and outs of this process.
What You Can Expect From Us
There are 3 main steps for licensing that you’ll need to complete in almost every state. We can help assist you through each of the steps:
To begin, you’ll need to apply. This ensures you are registered in the state of Arkansas properly so they can tax you. It also confirms that you meet the work experience and insurance requirements needed to perform work on someone else’s property.
Most states also require applicants to complete and pass a Business Law exam. This ensures you know the laws set in place when operating a business in the state of Arkansas.
Last you will need to prepare for and pass a technical exam specific to the type of work you perform. This shows you hold the applicable knowledge and skills needed to complete the type of work you wish to perform.
At Contractor Training Center, we will supply all the books and tabs you need to prepare for these exams. This is an open book exam, so we make sure to give you all the information you need to pass with flying colors on your first attempt. We are proud of our extremely high first-time pass rate. If you don’t pass, we’ll offer you the necessary class again for free.
In Arkansas, we teach exam prep courses for the following exams:
- The Arkansas Contractor Business Law exam.
- The NASCLA Nationally-Accredited exam. This is a commercial and residential license in the state of Arkansas. This license is also accepted in 15+ states and the USVI. It is the most popular license for General Contractors because it is so widely accepted and flexible! Avoid taking up to 16 different states' specific trade exams by taking the National NASCLA Exam
The Benefits Of Having A Contractor's License In AR
In addition to getting you more business, a license is often required by law. In Arkansas, you must hold a license for any commercial project exceeding $50,000 or any single-family residence or any other residential project costing more than $2,000.
In Arkansas, it is a misdemeanor offense for unlicensed contractors to work on projects requiring a license (see more below). Individuals that work without a license are subject to fines and even criminal charges for repeat offenses.
Gives You Credibility
Having a license increases your credibility, allowing you to build trust with your clients. There are other ways you can gain their trust, but this is a big part of establishing yourself and your business, especially if you're working with new customers.
Licensed contractors are regulated by the state/local government. Many states and localities offer recovery funds that compensate homeowners that experience financial losses at the hands of a contractor. Because of this reduced risk, homeowners are often willing to pay more to hire someone properly licensed.
Gives You A Higher Earning Potential
One benefit of having a contractor's license in Arkansas is it makes you reliable and experienced in the eyes of your client. It is very likely that they will even ask to see your license before they agree to any type of contract with you. Additionally, in Arkansas, you must hold a license for any commercial project exceeding $50,000. Alternatively, you must have a license to bid on, construct, or manage the construction of a single-family residence or the property and structures associated with it if the cost of the project is more than $2,000.
Having a general contractor license in Arkansas will also expand the size of the projects you can complete. If a large project over $50,000 opens for you but you don’t have a license, you’re missing out on a great opportunity earning potential. Consequently, clients will often pay more money to a licensed contractor as opposed to a handyman, because they have more confidence in the contractor's work.
Our best word of advice is to not put off getting your contractors license. If you get caught performing work illegally, it could mean serious trouble for you and your business. It will also hurt your reputation and even result in a loss of clientele. To avoid this, get started today, and you’ll have your license in no time.
How To Get A Contractors License In Arkansas
Wondering how to get a contractor's license in Arkansas? To get started on obtaining an AR contractors license, follow these steps:
DETERMINE WHICH EXAM YOU NEED TO TAKE
Contractor Training Center makes the process of obtaining your contractor license in Arkansas easy. We will guide you through the process of passing the Business and Law exam (required for AR contractor applicants not taking the NASCLA exam) or the National NASCLA Exam, accepted for commercial and residential construction in Arkansas. With the NASCLA exam, no additional business law exam is required for Arkansas applicants!
COMPLETE THE APPLICATION
You can obtain your Arkansas contractor application from the Arkansas Contractors Licensing Board.
When you’re ready for the exam, you can follow the directions down below. Remember that our course will walk you through this entire process. We can help significantly increase your chances of passing on your first try.
REGISTER FOR THE EXAM
To take the NASCLA exam, you must first apply and be approved by NASCLA. You can find the application on their website, ned.nascla.org No additional business law exam is required in Arkansas with a NASCLA license.
If you’re taking a different technical exam and need to take the Arkansas Business Law exam, it is proctored by Prometric exams. You can find the application for the exam on their website.
TAKE THE EXAM
The Arkansas Business and Law Exam is required by all commercial and residential contractors unless you take the NASCLA exam, which has business and law content included. It is open-book and we offer the Arkansas Business Law Manual (5th Edition) as well as pre-printed permanent tabs for the book. The exam consists of 50 questions and you have 2 hours to complete the exam. You can view the Prometric Candidate Information Bulletin here.
The NASCLA exam consists of 115 questions and you have 330 minutes to complete the exam. It is open-book and we offer a book bundle for the NASCLA exam, as well as pre-tabbed and highlighted NASCLA books.
Keep in mind that while highlighting within the book is acceptable, additional notes are not. This means no words, letters, diagrams, post-it notes, etc. We sell permanent pre-printed tabs for the NASCLA exam here. We will go through all of this in the course to make sure you’re fully prepared and know exactly what to expect.
WHAT TO EXPECT ON THE DAY OF THE EXAM
When the day comes to take the exam, there are some things you want to be aware of. This can be a nerve-racking experience. However, we are confident that after taking our course, you’ll enter the exam room confident and prepared.
Here are some things you to prepare for when it’s time to take the exam:
- Arrive at your testing center 30 minutes prior to your scheduled appointment
- Bring 2 valid forms of identification like your driver’s license and passport
- The name on your application needs to match the name on your photo ID exactly
- To pass the test you need to have a minimum of 70% or get at least 35 of the 50 questions right
Please be aware that this test is open-book. However, this does not mean it will be easy. This is a common misconception. In fact, this test is more difficult to pass than most closed books exams. It’s for this reason that many individuals fail on their first try. With Contractor Training Center, we guide you through this process. We ensure you have the necessary information with you to pass with flying colors.
PREPARING FOR THE CONTRACTORS EXAM
The best way to prepare for the Arkansas Contractors Exam is to have the necessary materials and study tools and to complete a prep course. Knowing what will be on the test and how to prepare will give you a huge advantage.
Get in touch with us today to learn how we help you prepare for the Arkansas contractor exam. You can expect us to provide you with the necessary books, test prep, and support. We offer an in-class session or online webinar to suit your schedule and preferences.
FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS
Our online courses are delivered digitally. Our system gives course access for 90 days from the date of purchase. If you need your access extended, contact us at firstname.lastname@example.org and we will be happy to help.
An Arkansas contractors license is valid for up to 2 years from the issue date. Renewal fees are $50 for commercial and residential builders. There is a late fee of $100.
No, continuing education is not required for Arkansas Contractors at this time. You can view updates at the Arkansas Contractor Licensing Board website here.
Here is a list of the states that accept the NASCLA license and the type of work that requires the license:
Commercial and Residential:
- North Carolina
- South Carolina
- US Virgin Islands
- West Virginia
Commercial and Residential - No Business Law exam required
Commercial and Residential - exemption from 16-hour BCL Pre-license
You can get the books needed directly from our Arkansas Book Store. Our courses will go over what areas in the book to cover and important information to pass the exam.
You can get the application from the Arkansas Licensing Board by clicking here.
There is a $100 filing fee (non-refundable) and exam fee of $80. This makes for a total of $180.
A business can have more than one qualifying agent. However, keep in mind that all agents are responsible for supervising and handling job specifications.
Yes, this is possible if this person shows proof of financial responsibility and insurance.
The business can continue to operate. However, they need to notify the appropriate division. They must do so no later than 45 days after the agent leaves the company. The business will then have 120 days to find a new qualifying agent. Once they do, they will need to apply for licensure under this new agent.
CONTACT CONTRACTOR TRAINING CENTER TODAY
This brings us to the end of our Arkansas contractor guide. If you have further questions or concerns, don’t hesitate to get in touch with one of our experts.
At Contractors Training Center, we are here to help you with every step of the way in the process of getting a contractors license in Arkansas until you successfully pass. We have helped over 30,000 contractors get their license and plan on doing the same for you!
If you’re ready to get started or need more information, don’t hesitate to give us a call at 888-585-7350.Contact us